Navigation

Blog Posts

Back to main page

Dark Mode

You are Visitor #:
Last Updated:

08102024

Today was... interesting. I had a few really good and productive conversations with my partner, and I feel like we came to a genuine undestanding on some things that have been outstanding issues, we also had the best sex we've had in months. I feel like we've reconnected in a way we haven't been able to in a while, I've missed it. We watched robocop too, which was something, I mean, they really do not make copaganda like they used to. We also watched S4E3 of Black Sails today, and Flint said something that caught my attention:

"Well, that's the trick, isn't it? If no one remembers a time before there was an England, then no one can imagine a time after it. The empire survives in part because we believe its survival to be inevitable. But it isn't. And they know that. That's why they're so terrified of you and I."

It just made me thing about all the abolitionist writing I've read recently, and the point they keep coming back to of prisons being so ubiquitious that we can't imagine a world without them, and how thats been the case to so many things, we thought there could be no future without a right of kings, and yet here we are, its all possible. And Madi's response:

"Too much sanity may be madness, and the maddest of all, to see life as it is and not as it should be."

I mean, just on a surface level in the show that tells you so much about their relationship, but even aside from that, its a great quote.

Something that I was just thinking about is we're using 'Karen' to shame white women behaving like they're entitled to the best service, or behaving like the cops are their private army (although, who can blame them, thats how the cops are marketed) and because the culture of shame that rules society its becoming more and more effective, and maybe that isn't such a bad thing.