Navigation

Blog Posts

Back to main page

Light Mode

You are Visitor #:
Last Updated:

Are Prisons Obsolete?

This may be one of Angela Davis et al.'s most well known works on prison abolition, and it is a great entry point into prison abolition. I will note that a lot of things from it were copied word for word to Abolition Vol. 1 which makes sense, but it did mean there were whole swaths of the book that I'd already read just days prior. One thing I don't remember being in Abolition Vol. 1 is the mention of Easy Nofemela and Ntobeko Peni, who she mentions as an example of an answer to the question most commonly raised in opposition to prison aboliton "what about all the rapists and murdurers?" and I think her example is a good demonstration of how actual community restoration can happen in the wake of violent tragedy. its an excellently written piece and if you haven't read it already I will be sure to add a free pdf access link on my link page. While I admittedly probably went through her works in the wrong order, I still found value and a wealth of new information in all of Angela Davis et al. works. As well as reading them all so closely together, it really helps to highlight how the movement has grown and how key of a role highlighting intersectionality is in its progress forward. Also after listening to almost the entire back catalougue of Pick Me Up, I'm Scared, and just having in the back of my mind all the racist and xenophobic structures that are involved in propping up the institution of prison, as well as the poignant reminders from Angela Davis herself within the works, though generally at a lower level of detail, due to that not being the main topic of these works. I do strongly appreciate the strong presence of hope in these works, hope for a better future, as that is something I frequently find myself lacking in when it comes to matters of global capitalism. Which reminds me, next month I should do some reading on global warming.

I think thats about all I really have to say on this book. I do want to say, like I said recently, I never expected myself to write this much ever again, I also never expected myself to read this much ever again, I'm very excited and proud of how I'm getting better. I will note that the next book does not deal with prison abolition, it more is a focus on evolution, which is something I have next to no knowledge on due to being raised with a biblical creationist point of view, so I am incredibly excited to learn about how things actually came to be.