Navigation

Light Mode

Blog Posts

Back to main page

September Update

It's a new month, and heres whats going on in my life this month.

First, I started T 4 days ago, I've already seen a few changes, my throat is a bit sore, my sweat smells different, I'm constantly hungry, my skin is oilier, and I'm having a minor breakout (I never really got acne bad before, and it's oddly gender affirming) also I woke up this morning and my chest was very sore. Oh, also it's seemed to have helped my sleep, at least when I take melatonin, otherwise my insomnia is still pretty bad.

As expected, I didn't quite finish my reading list last month, so I've added the last 3 to this month's list. I'm very excited to continue my reading this month, and I'm excited to read pretty much every book on the list this month, which I suppose means I picked good ones. I'm just over halfway through Che, and I'm also reading Fully Automated Luxury Communism, though I'm focusing mostly on Che.

I haven't really talked about work here before, but the company I work for is remodeling the building, and the area for the department I work in is finished, but they've delayed the move from the old area to the new area from July all the way to the end of September now, I'm convinced that we won't move till after Thanksgiving, but I guess we'll see. Also, my department tried to unionize earlier this year, and we lost by 1 vote, so we're going to try to vote again by the end of the year, and we're hopeful we'll be able to win this time.

I've recently found a local coffee co-op that I plan to frequent, the vibe is just amazing, and the coffee is really good, parking isn't great, but it's not a big deal. My plan is to go there every, or at least most, thursdays till they close, they have events every week, and I might participate in some, as my goal is to meet people and build community. Last time I went I hade a great time, met a new friend and talked, then worked on this sit till close. When I got to my car someone asked if I had spare change for the bus, and I offered them a ride, it was a big moment for me, even though it's a pretty inconsequential thing in the long run. This week I'm gonna stop at my favorite asian grocery to pick up my favorite ramen and possibly more dumplings, though I'm not sure about the dumplings, since they're frozen and I have no way of keeping them cold for up to 6 hours. But I think going to the coffee shop each week may be my new favorite routine, even though at first I was skeptical of going somewhere just to work on my laptop, when I could stay home, saving gas, and do the same thing, but my mind changed after my first visit.I went this past week to a different coffee shop I had scoped out, and it was cool and lively, but not quite the vibe I'm going for, at least not right now, but I probably will go back. My original plan was to alternate between them weekly, but I think I'm gonna favor the co-op.

In other news, I've started using VScode again, mainly for updating this site, but hopefully using it more will help me to get more comfortable with it so I can use it for things other than HTML and CSS. Hell, this might even be the push that gets me to learn JavaScript.