Navigation

Light Mode

Blog Posts

Back to main page

Che Guevara

A Revolutionary Life

I have finally finished the longest book I've ever read, it took me 2 weeks. This book was, at the time of publishing, the first birth to death account of Che Guevara's life. (It possibly still is, I haven't checked) It was written 30 years after Che's death, and the author, John Anderson, clearly did his research, the author is extremely thorough, making sure to include as many accounts of each and every incident as possible, even when they contradict one another. The author rarely makes assumptions, and when he does they're clearly stated as such. The author does his best to give a clear and complete account of every aspect of Che's life, and in my opinion, he did a fantastic job.

Growing up, I was homeschooled, and I dropped out of highschool in sophomore year. I had learned world history (although, admittedly a very biased view of world history) up to the US revolutionary war, but never anything past that, and my knowledge of anything between 1800-2001 is virtually non-existent, I am working on rectifying that, and attempting to get as varied and unbiased an account as possible, (nothing is unbiased, I mean a non western european/USAmerican biased account) though this is admittedly difficult as history is told by the victors, and the 'good guys' won every war ever (sarcasm).

This book was, for me, a great learning experience, and my first exposure to the history of the Cuban Revolution. Despite this being the longest book I've ever read, I don't have much to say about it. It's a very well written account of Che Guevara's life and of the Cuban Revolution, and its attempts to assist or start other revolutions elsewhere. If you ever have the time and will to read it, I highly recommend this book.
Che really did lead a revolutionary life, and I'm glad I have had the opportunity to learn about it.