Navigation

Light Mode

Blog Posts

Back to main page

Song of Achilles

I'll be honest, I'm not sure what I was expecting from this book, but it was not what I expected, in a good way. The book is so beautifully written, from Patroclus' point of view, he talks about how much he admires and love Achilles often, weaving an image of total devotion, that extends even in death. It's a beautifully sad book, with its inevitable ending, as much as you might wish it not to end that way. I haven't had a book make me cry like that in too long.

As a gay man who hasn't had much exposure to stories of men loving other men, it was especially meaningful to me. Both men being so loving and tender with each other, and Achilles being outspoken about his love for Patroclus, even against those who thought the union to be improper, not only due to them both being men, that being only a small part, the main issue being Patroculs' status. It was an interesting way to inject a familiar sentiment akin to homophobia, even though Greece was known at this time to be rather sexually liberal.

While I don't really have much else to say about the book, other than that it was really good and sad and beautiful, all of which I've already said, I have a lot to say about other stuff, as its been a few days since I updated this. I started therapy today, or rather, I had my intake session today, we didn't do any actual therapy today. My sessions are bi-weekly, at 2pm on Mondays, since that was the latest opening they had available, even though its still uncomfortably early for me, it's worth it to me. The intake session went well, we went over my questionare and expanded on some things, the session was only about 45 minutes long, which isn't much time, but I understand the limitations. She (my therapist) is also queer herself, and has someone close to her that transitioned, so even though she has no first hand experience, she gets it, which is what I need, more people who get it.

In other news, Che Guevara finally came in at the library, so I've begun reading that, its certainly interesting, even though I'm only on chapter 8. I'm hopefull that I'll be able to finish my whole monthly list by the end of the month (5 days) though I may end up going over by a day or so. Also, S, an aquantence/friend (I'm not quite sure where we stand) wants to hang out on friday, which should be fun, and he's bringing me something exciting tomorrow (if he remembers) and I can't wait.